The Coaster Book Challenge

I didn’t get a whole lot of new books for Christmas, but I did get some a couple really cool literary-inspired items.  I’ve decided to use two of these items to create a challenge.  My sister-in-law and brother bought me a set of literary-inspired drink coasters from Out Of Print. Each coaster represents a different book cover.  My boyfriend’s sister bought me the book Tequila Mockingbird: Cocktails With A Literary Twist by Tim Federie.  I’m not a big drinker, but I like puns and I do have a stocked bar cart that doesn’t get a whole lot of attention. The boyfriend and I probably should entertain more.  So I’ve decided to take the book titles and read each book while enjoying a cocktail inspired by that title.

Rules:

  1. I must make the cocktail and drink it while reading the book at least once. I will get the boyfriend to take a pic.
  2. I reserve the right to not finish a book, because life is too short to force myself to read a book I hate. I must give the book until at least page 50.
  3. All cocktails will be finished 🙂
  4.  I will post a review of both the cocktail (with recipe) and the book when I am finished with them.

Book & Cocktail Pairings for Challenge:

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov/The Lolita Cocktail

The Hound of The Baskervilles by Sir A. Conan Doyle/ The Adventures of Sherbet Holmes ( I may also make this for episodes of Sherlock Season 3 on PBS)

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller/ Catch-22 cocktail

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley/ Brave New Swirled

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell/Victory Gin Gimlet

On The Road by Jack Kerouac/Wine Spodiodi

Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison/ The Invisible Man

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen/ Rye and Prejudice

About half of these came from Tequila Mockingbird. The rest I found various places on the internet and I’ll post the links when I post my reviews.  While the books are set in stone (or on coasters) for this challenge, the drinks are not. If you have any suggestions for other drinks related to any of these books, please leave a comment. I can always make more than one drink during the course of reading one book.  Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

