Introduction and Book Review: Joyland by Stephen King

Hi! My name’s Rachel and I’m a lifelong reader. I’m kind of all over the place in terms of genres, and I’ll try anything once.  Just got my MLIS and am working part-time at a bookstore while looking for my first librarian job. So I am surrounded by books. This will only make my already long To-Be-Read list longer.  I’m really bad about reviewing the books that I read so I thought I’d start this blog to see if I could improve on that. Let’s get started, shall we?

Image

Title: Joyland
Author: Stephen King

Publisher: Hard Case Crime Books,283 pages

Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

If I had to pick a genre that I read a lot of, it would be horror.  Stephen King was one of the first horror authors I picked up so now he is one of a handful of authors I always buy new. Luckily, we had this at the store, so I bought it right after work and ran home to start it.  The story is that of college student, Devin Jones, who takes a summer job at an amusement park in North Carolina as a diversion from a really bad break up.  It’s essentially a story about the growing up and becoming an adult you do while studying and getting a degree in college and the summers in between.  The best thing about this book is that it is full of characters that feel real and are people you would actually want to spend time with.  I didn’t think this book was as scary as earlier Stephen King works.  I would compare it more to books like Lisey’s Story and Duma Key. Even the crime element doesn’t seem  very strong in this story, although there is a ghost and a murder mystery.  The living in this book are just more interesting than the dead.  Speaking of Duma Key, one of my favorite King books,  elements from that book do feel like they were planted into Joyland. There’s a character we meet on the beach in a wheelchair, some of the language is the same, and even that Devin is in need of his own time to heal could be seen as a similar theme.  This book is darker than Duma Key though.  Overall, those things didn’t bother too much and I was sucked in by the characters and the setting.  This book made working at a theme park seem fun…and the “carnies” aren’t that scary but are interesting people.  This is a fast paced read great for the beach or a plane ride (I finished it on my way to Las Vegas).  For once, I can’t say I felt Stephen King needed to edit down a lot.

3 thoughts on “Introduction and Book Review: Joyland by Stephen King

  1. Angie says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging!! I can’t wait to get my hands on this book. I have to wait though… I am reading through Under the Dome right now!!

  2. […] Introduction and Book Review: Joyland by Stephen King (racheldinga.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

